Suggested Article Databases
Databases with a medical or sport focus:
-
PubMed PubMed provides citations and abstracts of research artices, including some links to the full-text of articles. Using a link to PubMed from one of the library's web pages is preferable to going directly to the database because the library adds the "Find It" service which links to the library's holdings (both online and print).
An alternative interface is available through Medline (First Search) This interface will fill out the interlibrary loan form for you.
Short Video: Moving Citations from PubMed into RefWorks 2.0
Handout: Setting Up Alerts (see page 3)Tutorial: PubMed Tutorial (produced by PubMed) -
Cochrane Library The Cochrane Library provides original documentation on a variety of medical topics and health care based on research from journal research articles. Provides full text for most citations. NOTE: Cochrane Library will allow only one person at a time to use the database. Although this is not a large database in terms of the amount of coverage, topics that are covered are researched in great depth.
Short Video: Moving citations from the Cochrane Library to RefWorks 2.0 -
SPORTDiscus SPORTDiscus provides citations and abstracts of books and journal articles in all areas of sport, including exercise physiology, sports medicine, physical fitness, training and conditioning. Since this is a very comprehensive database, access to some of the cited references may be difficult. To determine local access, use Milner's Find It service. Interlibrary Loan is always an option for resources not owned by Milner. Although the coverage is comprehensive, it is not always very current.
-
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) Since ISU offers a nursing program, Milner has a strong collection in this area. Physical therapy is considered an allied health and receives strong coverage. Don't forget CINAHL!
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) HAPI includes information about evaluation and measurement tools used in the subject areas of health and psychosocial studies. Information is available on questionnaires, tests, rating scales, vignettes/scenarios, and other tools.
-
Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition Covers over 280 health periodicals, over 1,000 pamphlets, and 23 health reference books. Provides citations, abstracts, and full text.
- Human Kinetics Journals Use the search box in the upper right hand corner. This search will locate journal articles in a small set of titles published by Human Kinetics publishing. It might be a good way to identify articles when a comprehensive search is not required. Remember that Milner does not subscribe to all of the Human Kinetics journals.
Interdisciplinary databases:
- Combined search of Medline, Health Source Nursing Academic, and CINAHL
Although MedLine is the only database that shows, if you click on "Show all," you can see the others. Remember that these databases do not use the same subject headings, so you will need to rely primarily on key word searching. - Combined search of Medline, Health Source Nursing Academic, CINAHL, and Academic Search Complete
Although Medline is the only database that shows, if you click on "Show all," you can see the others. Remember that these databases do not use the same subject headings, so you will need to rely primarily on key word searching. -
Search Across Library Resources This service searches across all databases available from EBSCO. This does NOT include PubMed. In order to add PubMed to a search, it is necessary to complete a search and then add PubMed from the list that appears on the right side of the screen.
-
Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete is frequently a good place to start. It includes scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 8,200 journals in the collection. Use Milner's Find It service to determine availability when the full text is not directly linked.
-
Dissertations & Theses Dissertations & Theses covers the complete range of academic subjects appearing in dissertations from over 1,000 accredited institutions since 1861. Citations from 1980 forward also include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Free twenty-four page previews for all subjects and full text for dissertations are available beginning in 1997. Updated monthly.
Databases from related disciplines
-
PsycINFO Covers journal articles, book reviews, dissertations in psychology and related fields. Updated monthly. Provides citations and abstracts as well as full-text of recent articles published in American Psychological Association journals
Online Reference Sources
Selected Journals: Athletic Training
Note: Titles link to full text when available. Titles link to catalog record when only a print subscription is available.
* Indicates scholarly/peer reviewed journal
*American Journal of Sports Medicine
*Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
*International Journal of Sports Medicine
*Journal of Applied Biomechanics
*Journal of Applied Physiology
*Journal of Musculoskeletal Research
*Journal of Orthopaedic and Sports Physical Therapy
*Journal of Science and Medicine in Sport
*Journal of Sport Rehabilitation
*Journal of Strength and Conditioning Research
*Journal of the American Medical Association
*Medicine and Science in Sports and Exercise
Streaming Video
Sports Medicine and Exercise Science in Video
The collection features an array of i renowned physicians, exercise scientists, certified athletic trainers, physical therapists, registered dieticians, sport psychologists, personal trainers, and health/wellness experts who share information, ideas, and insights on the principles, techniques, and modalities of modern exercise science and sports medicine. This current release includes 271 videos totaling 352 hours.
Selected Titles: Exercise Science
* Indicates scholarly/eer reviewed journal
* ACSM's Health & Fitness Journal
*Adapted Physical Activity Quarterly
*American Journal of Sports Medicine
*Exercise and Sport Sciences Reviews
* International Journal of Sport and Exercise Psychology
* International Journal of Sport Nutrition and Exercise Metabolism
*International Journal of Sport Psychology
*Journal of Applied Physiology
*Journal of Applied Sport Psychology
*Journal of Sport & Exercise Psychology
* Journal of Sport and Social Issues
*Medicine and Science in Sports and Exercise
*Psychology of Sport and Exercise
*Research Quarterly for Exercise and Sport


Loading...
