This is the "Home" page of the "ENG101 Composition as Critical Inquiry" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
My

ENG101 Composition as Critical Inquiry  

Last Updated: Mar 24, 2010 URL: http://ilstu.libguides.com/ethnicity Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

*

Selected Encyclopedias

 Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society  [online only] Comprises nearly 600 entries ranging from 500 to 6,000 words in length, covering important topics, events, and persons relevant to race and ethicity in society. Also addresses other issues of inequality that intersect with race and ethnicity, including ability status, age, class, gender, and sexual orientation.

Harvard Encyclopedia of American Ethnic Groups (REF. and Stacks E184 .A1 .M85 1992) Contains informative essays on an exhaustive number (106) ethnic groups, as well as essays with themes such as "American Identity and Americanization," Assimilation and Pluralism," "Education," "Folklore," "Family Patterns," "Immigration," Intermarriage," "Language," "Leadership," "Loyalties," Politics," Prejudice," "Religion," and "Survey Research."

Multiculturalism in the United States: A Comparative Guide to Acculturation and Ethnicity (REF. E184 .A1 .M85 1992) Contains essays that describe the acculturation experience of many groups including African Americans, German Americans, Irish Americans, Scandinavian Americans, Polish Americans, Jewish Americans, Chinese Americans, Italian Americans, and Mexican Americans.

Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life 1998 (REF. GN 333 .W67 1998)  and newer edition online only

 Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life [online only] 2009 Five volume set providing information on the cultures of the world, covering different areas of daily life including clothing, food, language and religion.

 

*****

American Jewish Desk Reference: [the ultimate one-volume reference to the Jewish experience in America]

Encyclopedia of African-American culture and History

Encyclopedia of the Irish in America

Encyclopedia of Japanese American History

Hispanic American Almanac

Reference Library of European America v. 1. Ethnic essays, Acadians to Hungarian Americans -- v. 2. Ethnic essays, Irish Americans to Welsh Americans -- v. 3. Countries, Albania to Italy -- v. 4. Countries, Latvia to Yugoslavia

 

 

Selected Books

Selected Books on Course Reserve

Coming to America:  a History of Immigration and Ethnicity in American Life by Roger Daniels.

Ethnic Americans: A History of Immigration by Leonard Dinnerstein and David M. Reimers.

Not Like Us:  Immigrants and Minorities in America, 1890-1924 by Roger Daniels.

Browse the Catalog

For additional titles, browse the library catalog under the subjects:

Try typing in a specific ethnicity with the word history, for example:

  • African Americans History
  • German Americans History
  • Irish Americans History
  • Japanese Americans History

 

  • Ethnology United States History
  • Immigrants United States History
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip