Artifacts & other collections
Artifacts Collection:
The Milner Library Educational Artifacts Collection is a large collection of loanable trunks on a wide variety of topics in the social studies and science areas. The trunks contain materials to enhance the classroom experience. The collection also includes mammal and bird taxidermic specimens.
***note: directions for reservations are located on the Artifacts Collection page.
McLean County Museum of History Educational Resources
Loan Kits are "museums in a box," containing a teacher's curriculum guide, artifacts, reproductions, and activities for students. Reservations are required at least three weeks in advance. Material may be borrowed for up to two weeks, free of charge.
Picture File
The Picture File consists of thousands of mounted pictures from various sources including magazines, books, calendars, maps, catalogues, etc.
The pictures are located in filing cabinets on the 6th floor of the library and may be checked out at the Learning Resources Service Desk on floor 6.
Books & other materials
Look up your topic in the online catalog to find out what we have here at the Milner Library. From Milner’s homepage select “find books and other materials.” There are multiple ways to search the catalog for items you need: title, author, subject search, or a keyword search.
Tip! Limit your search!
Search the online catalog by clicking “find books and other materials” and then the RED “More Limits” button. Click on Teaching Materials Center in the drop down menu for location, and you will then JUST search TMC items. TMC materials circulate for 2 weeks.
Browse the TMC collection on floor 6!
Teacher Edition Art Textbooks – located in TEXT area of the Teaching Materials Center (TMC) on Floor 6 – call # ranges 701, 740
Art Activity books for teacher use – located in non-fiction shelves in the 372.5 call number range.
Reminder!
If you need a longer checkout period for TMC materials for the Saturday Creative Arts program, please ask for an override at the Reference Desk on the main floor of the library. Questions? Contact Kathleen or Julie (see contact information below).
Contact Us!
Questions? Contact us with your research or resource questions!
We are available to work with you via email or in person by appointment.
Art Librarian: Kathleen C. Lonbom (438-3950, klonbom@ilstu.edu), 619a Milner Library
Teaching Materials Center Librarian: Julie Derden (438-3442, jmderde@ilstu.edu )
617 Milner Library
Idea generators!
Guide to MOMA/Grove Art Learning Resources: These learning units are designed to make art accessible and exciting to younger audiences. Each learning unit includes lesson objectives, discussion topics, activities and projects, images and suggested readings in Grove Art Online that relate to the lesson plans. ![]()
Digital Art Education Content: an aggregator for digital content for teachers sponsored by the Verizon Foundation in partnership with the Kennedy Center's "Art Edge"
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait