Industry Classification
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is an economic classification system introduced in 1997 to replace the 1987 SIC system. NAICS codes are 6 digit numerical codes used to identify the primary line of business of North American establishments. Many large enterprises have multiple lines of business, and therefore they express multiple codes.
The classification was developed to facilitate the collection, presentation, and analysis of data; and to promote uniformity and comparability in the presentation of statistical data collected by various agencies of the federal government, state agencies, and private organizations. This new system was developed jointly by the U.S., Canada, and Mexico, to make international comparisons easier.
- North American Industrial Classification System (NAICS)Includes links to NAICS / SIC concordances.
- Standard Industrial Classification (SIC)Former SIC manual still maintained by OSHA.
Reference
Welcome!
This page is intended to provide you with many of the research tools you will need to complete projects / papers for Professor Goel's ECO 320 course. If you have any questions about research tools and strategies, don't hesitate to get in touch with me. Email is always best. Good luck!
Data / Statistics
- Business Statistics of the United States (eBook)Also held at the Reference Desk (just to the right of the main entrance of Milner).
- Concentration RatiosData from the economic census.
- Economic CensusResearch guide prepared to introduce you to and help you navigate through the Economic Census.
- GDP by Industry Data (BEA)
- Industrial Research & Development (NSF)This series reviews trends in research and development (R&D) activities of the US business sector.
- Industry Input-Output Data (BEA)The input-output (I-O) accounts show how industries interact; specifically, they show how industries provide input to, and use output from, each other to produce Gross Domestic Product (GDP).
- Statistical Abstract of the United StatesStatistics on all aspects of the United States, including economy.
Industry Reports
- Business Source CompleteProvides full text for more than 3,000 journals, including full text for more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. Provides Datamonitor "Industry Profiles."
- Encyclopedia of American IndustriesProvides detailed, comprehensive information on a wide range of industries in every realm of American business. Volume 1 covers manufacturing industries; Volume 2 addresses non-manufacturing and service industries. Look in the "Business" category to access this source.
- IBISWorldReports covering 700 Industries and 98% of GDP. Each report contains analysis and data on key statistics, industry structure including supply/demand chain, market characteristics, product and customer segments, cost structure industry conditions, key drivers, major players and market share, recent performance and 5-year revenue forecasts
- Standard & Poor's NetAdvantageA comprehensive source of business and investment information, offering on-line access to popular Standard & Poor’s research products such as Industry Surveys.
Research Databases
- ABI / InformSearch nearly 3000 worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, and more. Great source for trade & industry publications. Provides built-in NAICS "taxonomy" for building database search strategies.
- EconLitProvides indexing and abstracts of journals, books, dissertations, and working papers covering every area related to economics. It now includes full text for more than 560 journals.
- Web of Science / Citation IndexDatabase contains business, economics, management and finance content, plus a built-in article ranking system.
Contact Info |
Contact Info Milner Library Room 419 309-438-3355 IM Screen Name: mlbcjbarr2 cjbarr2@ilstu.edu Send Email Subjects: Accounting, Economics, Finance, Insurance, International Business, Management, Marketing, Technology |
Data / Statistics
- OECD iLibrary / Business Demography Indicators & Structural Business Statistics
- OECD iLibrary / Industry and ServicesExtensive economic statistics for OECD nations.
- OECD iLibrary / Structural Analysis Statistics
Other Resources / Guides
- Business & Financial RatiosAggregated financial performance of companies & industries, organized by NAICS / SIC.
- Foreign Direct Investment & Import / Export Data
- Industry Classification / NAICS & SIC



Loading...
