Mission and PoliciesProcessingHistory of CollectionFormer New Documents
This is the "Home" page of the "Government Information" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
My

Government Information   Tags: government documents  

This is a guide to assist users in finding government information.
Last Updated: Apr 23, 2013 URL: http://ilstu.libguides.com/govdocs Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Selected New Documents

Cover Art
Bound for Glory
Call Number: DOC. LC 25.2:B 66x
Presents 180 full-color photographs from the Library of Congress's Farm Security Administration collection, taken by FSA photographers from 1939 to 1943, creating a portrait of America as it began to emerge from the Great Depression and prepared to fightWorld War II.

Cover Art
The Art of Video Games
Call Number: DOC. SI 6.2:V 53x
Published to coincide with the Art of Video Games exhibition, at the Smithsonian American Art Museum in Washington, D.C., Mar. 16-Sept. 30, 2012.

Cover Art
1934
Call Number: DOC. SI 6.2:N 42
Published on the occasion of the exhibition 1934: A New Deal for Artists, held at the Smithsonian American Art Museum, Feb. 27, 2009-Jan. 3, 2010.

 

Federal Depository Library Program

Illinois State University's Milner Library has been a Federal Depository since 1858.

More information on the historical collection.

Instruction & Research with Documents

2013 Spring Semester Classes

COM 110 Communication as Critical Inquiry

HIS 300 Cold War (Kennedy)

HIS 300 U.S. Civil War (Gifford)

HIS 497.1 Research in History (Biles)

MQM 423/324 Advanced Human Resources / Industrial Resources Management

 

Online Guides and Handouts

U.S. Census 

Federal and General Sources on Law and Legislation

Federal Statistics

Guide to Government Resources for Criminal Justice Sciences Majors

Top Ten Facts about Milner Federal Documents

FDSys

      

    Documents Databases

    Congressional Publications  Provides access to a variety of information by and about the United States Congress. It indexes Congressional publications from 1789 to the present and provides access to Legislative Histories for public laws (1969-); testimony from congressional hearings (1824-); bill texts and status (1989-); the Congressional Record (1985-); and the Federal Register (1980-); and information about members and committees. 

    FDSys [Federal Digital System]  Government Printing Offices's only Web site for online official and authentic Government information from all three branches of the Federal Government. FDSys provides free access to nealy 50 different collections of Government information ranging from Public and Private Laws to United States Court Opinions to the U.S. Budget. More information

    GPO Monthly Catalog July 1976 to present Index to materials published by the US Government Printing Office. This index is valuable for using the Milner Library Documents Collection. Updated monthly. Provides citations, abstracts.

    Historic Documents  The online equivalent of the entire run of the print serial Historic documents, issued since 1972, each annual volume of which contains approximately 100 documents covering the most significant events of the year. The documents include presidential speeches, international agreements, Supreme Court decisions, U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions. Documents are preceded by introductory material to provide historical and intellectual context. Provides full text.

    Historical Statistics of the United States  Historical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition is a compendium of statistics from over 1000 sources and covers topics such as health, crime, slavery, American Indians, and poverty.

    LexisNexis Academic  Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. Provides citations, abstracts, and full text.

    Statistical Insight 1974 to present  Statistical data produced by the US government; important international intergovernmental organizations; and knowledgeable professional and trade organizations, business organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state government agencies, and universities. Includes American Statistics Index and Index to International Statistics. Coverage period varies. Update period variable. Provides statistical data.

        

      Need Help?

      Profile Image
      Angela Bonnell
      Logo - AIMLogo - Yahoo IM
      Contact Info
      Milner Library, Office #417
      Send Email
       

      Book Talk

      Loading Loading...
      blank padding
       

      Gov Docs IM

      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip