This is the "Home" page of the "Education: Higher Education" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Education: Higher Education  

Last Updated: Aug 19, 2013 URL: http://ilstu.libguides.com/higher Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Selected Statistics and Research Reports

ACT: Reports and Policy Reports
ACT provides scholarly and technical reports on a variety of topics, including test and test-item fairness, test reliability and validity, improving the achievement of at-risk populations, and the determinants of academic success.

Almanac of Higher Education
Note that  this link takes you through Milner's proxy server--you will be prompted for your ULID and password.  Go to the "Online Journal", then click on "Facts and "Figures," and finally select the tab for the "Almanac of Higher Education."

Campus Security Data Analysis Cutting Tool
designed to provide rapid customized reports for public inquiries relating to campus crime data.

College Board:  Research Reports
Data, reports, and research provided by the College Board,

College InSight
Provides data on college affordability, diversity, and student success, and provides tools to compare and analyze this data.  Provides data for almost 5,000 U.S. colleges and universities. In addition to college-level data, it features totals and averages for states, sectors, and other groupings of colleges.

College Navigator
Primarily for students exploring college options, but has some good basic statistics on specific institutions.

Educational Policy Institute: Research
EPI research focuses primarily on the issues related to educational opportunity throughout the education continuum, from early childhood education to graduate and professional studies, including adult education and workforce development.

ETS: Research for Higher Education
Research reports produced by the ETS.

Faculty Salaries 
AAUP and the Chronicle of Higher Education provide information on faculty salaries by rank at more than 1,400 institutions.

Graduate Enrollment and Degree Reports
Annual reports produced by the Council of Graduate Schools.

Grapevine 
A national database of tax support for higher education hosted by the Illinois State University College of Education. Individual state reports include current fiscal year and previous fiscal year state tax appropriations for operating expenses and a 50-state summary table showing state totals for the current year, the previous two years, a ten-year figure, and percentages of change over one, two, and ten years.

Higher Education General Information Survey (HEGIS)
Data on enrollment, program completions, finances, and institutional characteristics for public and private postsecondary institutions from the mid 1960s through the mid 1980s.

Higher Education Research Institute (HERI) 
HERI is based in the Graduate School of Education & Information Studies at UCLA. Its web site provides information from surveys of faculty and students on such topics as attitudes toward technology, service learning and the college experience. The Institute's holdings include more than a hundred datasets that are regularly maintained for analysis of postsecondary education.

First Year Performance at Illinois Public Universities and Colleges
Located on the Chicago Tribune's web site, data shows how Illinois public school graduates fared when they became freshmen at the state’s universities and community colleges.  Searchable by public university or college and by high school.  Users can look up average high school GPAs and grade point averages earned at each public university and community college that students attended.

IBHE Public University Salary Database
The Illinois Board of Higher Education provides salary and benefit information for full-time and part-time administrators and instructional staff at Illinois’ public universities as required by Public Act 96-0266 (effective January 1, 2010). The database is searchable by name, position and job title.

Illinois Board of Higher Education: Data & Statistics
Data collected and maintained by the Board fall into three broad categories: demographic information about enrolled students and degree recipients, faculty and staff information, and characteristics of individual colleges and universities.

Illinois Public Agenda for College and Career Success: Library: Research & Reports
Reports related to the Illinois Public Agenda for College and Career Success

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research  
ICPSR maintains and provides access to an archive of social science data for research and instruction, and offers training in quantitative methods to facilitate effective data use. In addition, ICPSR provides user support to assist researchers in identifying relevant data for analysis and in conducting their research projects.  For more information about how Illinois State University faculty and students can access ICPSR, contact Vanette Schwartz.

Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS)
Note: Although some sections of this site require a user ID and password, you will be able to complete some peer analysis.
This is part of the National Center for Education Statistics (listed below)

National Center for Education Statistics
The primary source of education statistics collected by the U.S. government.

National Center for Public Policy and Higher Education
The National Center prepares and makes available reports of   issues regarding opportunity and achievement in higher education.  Links to the reports are provided.

National Report Card on Higher Education
Biennial report card measuring states' achievement and improvement in higher education.

National Survey of Student Engagement 
Designed to obtain, on an annual basis, information from scores of colleges and universities nationwide about student participation in programs and activities that institutions provide for their learning and personal development.

NCHEMS Information Center for Higher Education Policy Making and Analysis
Provides comparative state data related to student success, policies, and competetiveness. 

NEA Almanac of Higher Education
Contains information on faculty salaries and benefits, the economic conditions in the states, faculty workload, trends in bargaining, and information on non-faculty professionals on campus.

Open Doors: Report on International Educational Exchange
Information and data tables about international students in the U.S. and Americans studying abroad.  Also includes information about scholarships and funding.

State Policy Inventory Database Online (SPIDO)
A database of higher education policy issues, searchable by state or by policy issue, and designed to provide state policymakers, educational leaders, and education consumers with policies in critical areas (policy domains) that most directly impact student achievement, access, and success in higher education.

Survey of Earned Doctorates
Gathers information annually from 45,000 new U.S. research doctorate graduates about their educational histories, funding sources, and post-doctoral plans.  A report published by the National Science Foundation uses data collected from the 2009 Survey of Earned Doctorates (SED) to report on trends in the numbers of individuals who earn research doctoral degrees from U.S. academic institutions.

U.S. Doctorates in the 20th Century
"This report describes the history and growth of doctoral education in the United States from 1900 to 1999 and shows changes in the characteristics of persons who complete a doctoral education."

 

 

 

 

Selected Professional Organizations

American Association of Collegiate Registrars and Admissions Officers (AACRAO)

American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education (AACTE)

American Association of Community Colleges (AACC)

American Association of State Colleges and Universities

American Association of University Professors (AAUP)

American Council on Education (ACE)

American Educational Research Association (AERA)

Association for Institutional Research (AIR)

Association for the Study of Higher Education (ASHE)

Association of American Universities (AAU)

Association of College and University Housing Officers-International (ACUHO-I)

Association of Governing Boards of Universities and Colleges (AGB)

Association of Higher Education Facilities Officers (APPA)

Association of Public and Land Grant Universities

Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching
  Of particular interest is the Carnegie Classifications

Council of Higher Education Management Associations (CHEMA)

Higher Learning Commission

Institute for Higher Education Policy (IHEP)

NASPA – Student Affairs Administrators in Higher Education

National Academic Advising Association  (NACADA)

National Association of College and University Attorneys (NACUA)

National Association of College and University Business Officers (NACUBO)

National Association of Independent Colleges and Universities (NAICU)

National Association of Student Financial Aid Administrators (NASFAA)

National Center for Public Policy and Higher Education

National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA)

National Council for the Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE)

Sloan Consortium (Sloan C)

Society for College and University Planning (SCUP)

State Higher Education Executive Officers (SHEEO)

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip